An idyllic spot
It must be acknowledged that the Golf de Reims, located just a hop, skip, and a jump from the city center and its famous cathedral, has a long and rich history. Once upon a time, during the 15th century, there was a beautiful and comfortable castle, the Château de Gueux, built not for the poor, as its name might lead one to believe (translator’s note: Gueux in French means ‘ a pauper’), but for the lords, archbishops of Reims and Counts of Champagne. Following their coronations, the kings of France would stop here to lunch, no doubt Pantagruelian feasts. However, in 1798 the French Revolution got the better of the château and it was demolished. The remains were then sold as national property to ‘Lord Meunier’, who later became the first magistrate of the city.